top of page

Desbaratada la ficción del tiempo (2008)

The Fiction of Time Destroyed

Violin and Piano

9 minutes

Premiered October, 2008 at the Salon Concerts Series in Austin Texas. Laura Kobayashi, violin, Susan Gray, piano. Also performed by Sean Riley, violin and Euntaek Kim, piano at the Juilliard School in November 2008.

This work was awarded Honorable Mention at the ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composers Awards in 2011.

Program notes:

This work was written for and dedicated to my former violin teacher and good friend Laura Kobayashi and Susan Gray, her duet partner. The title comes from a line in a poem by Jorge Luis Borges entitled"Amorosa Anticipación" Anticipation of Love.

The first of the three short movements is agitated and anxious; the motion is relentless and in constant flux. After such pyrotechnics, the following movements seem to survive in the exhausted ashes of the first; the final movement providing a semblance of emotional catharsis, and a climax of its own. The destruction of the "fiction of time" dictates the large-scale trajectory of the piece from energy-driven to a state of quiet resignation as the piece comes to an end.

Sean Riley, Violin

Euntaek Kim, Piano

bottom of page