top of page
El Crepúsculo de la Iguana (2007)
The Twilight of the Iguana

violin and piano

9 minutes


Premiered by Sean Riley, violin and Irene Wong, piano.

Program notes:


El Crecuspulo de la Iguana is a one movement work lasting approximately 9 minutes scored for violin and piano. The piece begins with a hesitant statement that builds in intensity until it becomes a freely flowing melody in the violin. The meditative music is interrupted by fast incisive gestures in the piano. The piece continues to alternate between the two tempi and characters until reaching a climax after which the two types of music are briefly combined before bringing the work to a close. The title comes from the opening line of a poem by Pablo Neruda titled Algunas Bestias/ Some Beasts.

bottom of page